1996 Awards

Watch the video of the 1996 Goldsmith Awards Ceremony: Video

Goldsmith Career Award Winner:

Peter Jennings

Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting Winner:

The Dayton Daily News
Russell Carollo, Carol Hernandez, Jeff Nesmith,
and Cheryl Reed
“Military Secrets” and “Prisoners on Payroll”


The New York Times
Ralph Blumenthal, Adam Bryant, Stephen Engleberg, Douglas Frantz and Matthew Wald
“The FAA, USAir and the ATR Turbo Prop Planes”

The Baltimore Sun
Gary Cohn and Ginger Thompson

The Minneapolis Star Tribune
Sharon Schmickle and Tom Hamburger
“Who Owns the Law? West Publishing and the Courts”

The Sun-Sentinel
Fred Schulte and Jenni Bergal
“Profits from Pain”

Goldsmith Book Prize Winner:

Stephen Ansolabehere and Shanto Iyengar
Going Negative: How Political Advertisements Shrink and Polarize the Electorate

Ceremony Date

March 14, 1996


The annual Goldsmith Awards Program is funded by the Greenfield Foundation.