Awards & Prizes

The Goldsmith Book Prize

About the award

The Goldsmith Book Prize is awarded to the trade and academic book published in the United States in the last 24 months that best fulfills the objective of improving democratic governance through an examination of the intersection between the media, politics and public policy. Recent Goldsmith Book Prizes have been awarded to books about political journalism, the history of news, news and political polarization, internet freedom, local news and digital democracy. Books that are not on the topic of media and politics will not be considered.

Financial support for the Goldsmith Awards Program is provided by an annual grant from the Goldsmith Fund of the Greenfield Foundation. The program is administered by the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.

Rules and Information


Submissions for the 2024 Goldsmith Book Prize are now closed. The deadline to submit was December 15, 2023, 11:59pm ET. Entries for the 2024 Goldsmith Book Prize must have been published between January 1, 2022, and December 31, 2023. Books outside the defined category are not eligible for an award and will not be reviewed by the award committee. All submissions must be in English. Edited volumes will not be accepted.

Prize Money

$5,000 is awarded to the winner in each category.

Submission Info

Submissions for the 2024 Goldsmith Book Prize are now closed.


Please contact Lindsay Underwood at the Shorenstein Center:

    Recent Announcements