1997 Awards

Watch the video of the 1997 Goldsmith Awards Ceremony: Video

Goldsmith Career Award Winner:

Barbara Walters

Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting Winner:

The Los Angeles Times
Glenn Bunting, Rich Connell, Maggie Farley, Sara Fritz, Evelyn Iritani, Connie Kang, Jim Mann, Alan Miller and Rone Tempest
“Illegal Democratic Campaign Contributions”


The Wall Street Journal
Jill Abramson, Helene Cooper, Phil Kuntz, Michael Moss, Glenn Simpson, Peter Waldman and John Wilke
“Foreign Contributions Riddle”

The Times Picayune
Chris Adams
“Of Pain and Gain”

The Kansas City Star
Joe Stephens
“Ill-gotten Gains?”

The Cleveland Plain Dealer
Elizabeth Marchak
“FAA: Safety Comes Second”

The Boston Globe
Charles Sennott
“Armed for Profit: The Selling of U.S. Weapons”

Ceremony Date

March 18, 1997


The annual Goldsmith Awards Program is funded by the Greenfield Foundation.