1998 Awards

1998 Goldsmith Career Award Winner:

Dan Rather

Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting Winners:

The Seattle Times
Duff Wilson
“Fear in the Fields — How Hazardous Wastes Become Fertilizer”

Time magazine
Michael Duffy, Michael Weisskopf and Viveca Novak
“Abuse of Campaign Finance Laws”

Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting Finalists:

The Cape Cod Times
Anne Brennan and William A. Mills
“Broken Trust: The Failed Cleanup at the Massachusetts Military Reservation”

The Chicago Sun-Times
Chuck Neubauer and Charles Nicodemus
“Investigation into Chicago City Hall Ethics Abuses”

The New York Times
Martin Gotttlieb, Kurt Eichenwald, Josh Barbanel and Tamar Lewin
“Health Care’s Giant”

The Philadelphia Inquirer
Loretta Tofani and Jeffrey Fleishman
“Inside Tibet: A Country Tortured”

Goldsmith Book Prize Winner:

Richard Norton Smith
The Colonel: The Life and Legend of Robert R. McCormick, 1880–1955

Ceremony Date

March 12, 1998


The annual Goldsmith Awards Program is funded by the Greenfield Foundation.