2022 Awards

The 2022 Goldsmith Awards will be held on April 5, 2022, in a ceremony at Harvard Kennedy School that will also be livestreamed online. Check back soon for information about how to join the festivities.

Ceremony Date

April 5, 2022


The Goldsmith Prizes are funded by an annual gift from the Goldsmith Fund of the Greenfield Foundation.

2022 Award and Prize Winners

Finalists for Goldsmith Investigative Reporting Prize

  • Finalist, Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

    Sacrifice Zones: Mapping Cancer-Causing Industrial Air Pollution

  • Finalist, Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting


  • Finalist, Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

    Wires and Fires

  • Finalist, Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting


  • Finalist, Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

    Juvenile Injustice, Tennessee


Nancy Gibbs, Director of the Shorenstein Center, chaired the meeting. Judges recused themselves from voting on entries from their employers. The 2022 Goldsmith Investigative Reporting Prize judges were:

Kathleen Carroll

Former Executive Editor of the Associated Press. Winner of the 2020 Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism

Beth Daley

Editor of The Conversation US, previously an editor and investigative journalists at InsideClimate News, The Boston Globe, and the New England Center for Investigative Reporting.

Betsy Fischer Martin

Executive Director, Women & Politics Institute and Executive in Residence in the Department of Government at American University. Former Executive Producer of Meet the Press with Tim Russert.

Mike Greenfield

Trustee of the Greenfield Foundation (financial supporters of the Goldsmith Awards Program); Co-Founder and CEO of Change Research.

Kathy Kiely

Lee Hills Chair in Free Press Studies at the Missouri School of Journalism

Alison Kodjak

Deputy Global Investigations Editor at the Associated Press

Wendy Ruderman

Staff Writer, The Marshall Project. Former investigative reporter at the Philadelphia Inquirer, where she was a 2019 Goldsmith Prize finalist for “Toxic City: Sick Schools.”

Todd Wallack

Deputy Managing Editor, WBUR. Former data journalist and investigative reporter for The Boston Globe’s Spotlight Team where he was a 2015 Goldsmith Prize finalist for “Shadow Campus.”

Setti Warren

Executive Director of the Harvard Institute of Politics, former Executive Director of the Shorenstein Center, and former Mayor of Newton, MA.