2024 Awards

The annual Goldsmith Awards, presented by the Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School, honor public service journalism that has an impact on United States public policy and the functioning of government.

This year’s event will take place on April 3, 2024 in the JFK Jr. Forum at HKS. We will honor six reporting teams (five finalists and one winner) that have done the best investigative reporting that has an impact on U.S. public policy in the previous year. The winner of the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting is announced live during the ceremony.

The ceremony will also honor this year’s Goldsmith Career Award winner Nina Totenberg, who will hold a fireside chat with Center Director Nancy Gibbs during the awards ceremony, as well as the winners of this year’s Goldsmith Book Prize, and the inaugural recipient of a new Goldsmith special citation for reporting on government and policy implementation.

Scroll down for information about this year’s judges and honorees!

Ceremony Date

April 3, 2024


The Goldsmith Awards are funded by an annual gift from the Goldsmith Fund of the Greenfield Foundation.


The Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting finalists and winners are selected from the nominated submissions by a panel of nine expert judges. Judges recused themselves from voting on entries from their employers. Nancy Gibbs, Director of the Shorenstein Center, chaired the judges meeting.

The 2024 Goldsmith Investigative Reporting Prize judges were:

Betsy Fischer Martin

Executive Director, Women & Politics Institute and Executive in Residence in the Department of Government at American University. Former Executive Producer of Meet the Press with Tim Russert.

Mike Greenfield

Trustee of the Greenfield Foundation (financial supporters of the Goldsmith Awards Program); Co-Founder and CEO of Change Research.

Corey Johnson

Reporter, ProPublica
2022 Finalist for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting

Phillip Martin

Senior Investigative Reporter, GBH News Center for Investigative Reporting. 2022 Goldsmith Fellow at the Shorenstein Center.

Carmen Nobel

Program Director and Editor in Chief of The Journalist’s Resource, Shorenstein Center

Barbara Laker

Reporter, Investigations Team, Philadelphia Inquirer. 2019 and 2023 Finalist for the Goldsmith Prize for Investigative Reporting.

Ayushi Roy

Adjunct Lecturer in Public Policy at Harvard Kennedy School, Deputy Director of the New Practice Lab at New America.

Marylou Sudders

Senior Policy Advisor, Smith, Costello & Crawford. Former Secretary of Health and Human Services of Massachusetts (2015-2023).

Bina Venkataraman

Opinion Columnist for The Washington Post, former Opinion Page Editor at The Boston Globe.

2024 Award and Prize Winners

Finalists for Goldsmith Investigative Reporting Prize