Skip to main content


November 2, 2022

Submissions for the 2023 Goldsmith Book Prize Now Open

Submissions for the 2023 Goldsmith Book Prize are now open. The deadline to submit is Friday, December 16, 2022, 11:59pm ET. Entries for the 2023 Goldsmith Book Prize must have been published between January 1, 2021, and December 31, 2022.

The Shorenstein Center awards the Goldsmith Book Prize to the best trade and best academic book published in the United States in the last 24 months that fulfills the objective of improving democratic governance through an examination of the intersection between the media, politics and public policy. Books outside the defined category are not eligible for an award and will not be reviewed by the award committee.

Recent Goldsmith Book Prizes have been awarded to books about political journalism, the history of news, news and political polarization, internet access and freedom, local news, and digital democracy.

$5,000 is awarded to the winner in each category.


Recent Announcements